Rapsody of Jamla Records opened up to The Source on her latest mixtape, how she plans to attain longevity, and more.

Visit streaming.thesource.com for more information

The Source had the pleasure to kick it with the MC-from-NC and her mentor 9th Wonder during their 24 hour (roughly) stint in the big apple last week. Rapsody and the godfather of Jamla touched down for a private listening session of her Gangsta Grillz-presented DJ Drama-hosted She Got Game mixtape, which she’ll be letting loose today.

For those invited to cozy up at Fireplace Studios for the first listen to her latest, Rapsody sent ’em home with one underlying takeaway. In her own words:


“As a female, don’t put me in this box….I can run with the fellas.”

Based on the bars we relished that evening, her femininity is by no means to be seen as a crutch in the game…but we already knew that.

During her action-packed trip to the city that never sleeps, Rapsody and 9th followed the “when in Rome” mantra, and made sure they made moves with every New York minute that passed. Following the listening session, they set out to DJ Premier‘s studio to start shooting the video for her cut produced by Premier himself, entitled “Kingship.” Rapsody shared with us that the track was originally intended for Ludacris, but she “snatched that beat” the second she heard Premier bump it. Well played, Rapsody…well played.

In between her listening event and video shoot, Rapsody generously gave us a few minutes of her time to further pick her brain on She Got Game and a myriad of other topics. Check the full interview below, tracklist after the jump, and head back to The Source for the full mixtape.

Interview by: Alana (@TheLadyLana)

Filmed by: Mateo (@ShotsByMateo)


She Got Game Tracklist

1. A Song About Nothing (Prod. by Eric G)
2. Coconut Oil ft. Raekwon & Mela Machinko (Prod. by 9th Wonder)
3. Thank You Very Much (Prod. by Khrysis)
4. Lonely Thoughts ft. Chance The Rapper (Prod. by Denaun Porter)
5. Caught Up ft. Raheem Devaughn (Prod. by Khrysis)
6. Generation ft. Mac Miller and Jared Evan (Prod. by 9th Wonder)
7. Special Way (Prod. by Khrysis)
8. Dark Knights ft. Wale (Prod. by E. Jones)
9. My Song ft. Mela Machinko (Prod. by 9th Wonder)
10. Complacent ft. Problem (Prod. by 9th Wonder)
11. Love After All ft. Gwen Bunn (Prod. by 9th Wonder)
12. Kingship (Prod. by DJ Premier)
13. Feel Like (Love Love) ft. Common (Prod. by Ka$h)
14. Never Fail (Prod. by Eric G)
15. Never Know ft. Nipsey Hussle, Ab-Soul & Terrace Martin (Prod. by 9th Wonder)