T-Pain celebrated his return to music in New York by hosting a listening event for his Iron Way Mixtape.

Visit streaming.thesource.com for more information

The studio was packed with press and celebrities. Rappers Consequence, Busta Rhymes and commentator Sharon Carpenter made appearances at the event.

The event started with the documentary Bigger than Pain that T-Pain filmed over the course of making this mixtape.  The film documents Pain in the studio with his artist Ventrease, performing, and traveling. You see a different side to Pain, he wasn’t drinking and smoking before a performance but actually prefers to be by myself in a quiet space.


After the film aired there was a Q&A and we also listened to some of the tracks in their entirety.  They talked about T-Pain’s break from music.  Which he said was caused by depression. The depression was caused by bad business deals and “bad” people around him. It had been two years since he released “Up and Down,”  and he blamed everyone else for the business deals gone wrong. But once he realized there was no one else to blame but himself, he cut off his hair and began rebranding his image.

The song everyone was waiting to hear, was the most notable track featuring the late Aaliyah titled “Girlfriend.” He discussed how hard it was to get the track, and because of her death people believe no one is deserving of being on a track with Aaliyah. I must say the track doesn’t disappoint, and features quite a bit of Aaliyah‘s vocals.

The mixtape features appearances from Kardinal Offishall, Bun B, Big K.R.I.T, Yo Gotti, OG Maco, Lil Wayne, K Camp, and Migos. Surprisingly you will hear Pain rap more than sing specifically on the track “Kill these N****s.”  T-Pain fans will definitely enjoy this mixtape, and we look forward to him releasing the album which he says he’s still working on. He definitely has some strip club bangers which is typical coming from T-Pain. We get the vibe that with this mixtape he doesn’t want to just be labeled as a R&B singer, but taken seriously as a rapper. The mixtape has 21 tracks, and has a few hits that will be knocking in the clubs for a while.

The full track listing below, T-Pain‘s The Iron Way droped March 27.

1. Kill These Niggas – Prod. By BAM
2. Disa My Ting (feat. KK Holiday & Kardinal Offishall) – Prod. By BAM
3. Did It Anyway -Prod. By CP Dubb
4. Let Your Hair Down (feat. The Dream & Vantrease) – Prod. By The Dream
5. Trust Issues (feat. Young Cash & Sean Jay)- Prod. By Ty Steez & The Colleagues
6. Booty Butt Ass- Prod. By T-Pain
7. 15 – Prod. By T-Pain
8. Sun Goes Down (feat. Audio Push) – Prod. By T-Pain
9. The King (feat. Bun B & Big K.r.i.t.) – Prod. By Major Seven
10. Hashtag – Prod. By T-Pain
11. Personal Business (feat. Vantrease) – Prod. By All-Star
12. Need To Be Smokin – Prod. By Bishop Jones
13. Relax – Prod. By Don Cannon
14. HeartBeat – Prod. By T-Pain
15. Representin (feat. Yo Gotti & Snootie Wild) – Prod. By DJ Montay
16. Wait A Minute (feat. OG Maco)
17. Prod. By Joe Millionaire
18. Another Level (feat. Vantrease) – Prod. By T-Pain & Toro The Don
19. What You Know (feat. K Camp & Migos)
20. Let Me Thru (feat. Lil Wayne) – Prod. By DJ Montay
21. Ever – Prod. By Ty Steez & Aphilliyated


-Victoria B. (@unabashedlytori)