In an exclusive interview with MTV News, Top Dawg Entertainment (TDE) president, Dave Free, spoke about Kendrick Lamar, Schoolboy Q, SZA and more. Check out the excerpts below.

Visit for more information

TDE president Dave Free told MTV:

“This year was a great year, but 2016 is going to be an amazing year. We’ve got a lot more music coming. A lot of artists didn’t come out in 2015. By the time we come back around on this next go? Oh my goodness. It’s gonna crazy. We’re gonna have everybody hittin’. That’s what’s gonna be sick. That’s what’s gonna be fun. That’s what I’m excited about.”

There are currently seven artists signed to the label: SZA, Isaiah Rashad and Black Hippy members Kendrick Lamar, Jay Rock, Schoolboy Q and Ab-Soul. Free spoke about opening the floodgates with new releases in 2016:


“I’m excited for people to hear the new SZA album. I’m stupid excited for y’all to hear the Isaiah Rashad album. I’m stupid excited for y’all to hear the new Ab-Soul. I’m so excited for y’all to hear Q’s album. Oh my God. These are songs I’ve been living with. I already know what it’s gonna do.”

Asked about the highly anticipated collaborative project between K-Dot and J. Cole, Free replied:

“Anything’s a possibility. Everything’s a possibility, but I’ma say this, too: Kendrick and Cole are in a place in their careers and in their lives where they have to keep going. Of course they’re two of the biggest rappers out, but they still have to keep grinding. There’s so much work that they have to continue to do.

Free continued:

“A joint album does sound great, but people need to understand, these are two geniuses. These are two creative guys. It takes a long time for one of them to get in a space to create a song, so to get two of them in a space to do that, it takes a lot of time and energy. It all has to be a singular project, but it just can’t happen overnight.”

You can read the full interview here: MTV

Listen to a decade of Top Dawg Entertainment in one mix. “10 Years: 30 Albums & Counting”: Mixed By Ali

tde artwork_credit tde]

Photo Credit: MTV News