The annual NFL Pro Bowl game is perhaps one of the least watched All-Star game of all the top tier professional sports. In an attempt to inject some new life into the game, two years ago the NFL decided to do away with the traditional best of AFC and NFC matchup and instead have two Hall of Fame players serve as team captains, drafting players of their choice.

Visit for more information

This year, the team captains are some of the league’s greatest ever at the wide receiver position, Jerry Rice and Michael Irvin. The two chose their players in front of a primetime audience on ESPN. Last year, the game was held in Glendale, Arizona but this time the Pro Bowl game will be held in Hawaii, where it has traditionally been. One of the major issues with the game is that many players who are selected to the Pro Bowl opt out of attending. This year was the most declined in NFL history, with a total of 133 eventually being chosen. All seven of the New England Patriots players chosen passed on the opportunity to play and even Green Bay Packers coach Mike McCarthy backed out with an “illness.”

Take a look below to see who will be hitting the field and check out the 2016 Pro Bowl when it airs 7 p.m. EST on ESPN from Aloha Stadium.



Captain: RB Devonta Freeman (Falcons)

Captain: DT Geno Atkins (Bengals)

1. QB Russell Wilson (Seahawks)

2. WR Julio Jones (Falcons)

3. CB Richard Sherman (Seahawks)

4. DE Ezekiel Ansah (Lions)

5. DE Michael Bennett (Seahawks)

6. WR A.J. Green (Bengals)

7. WR DeAndre Hopkins (Texans)

8. RB Todd Gurley (Rams)

9. OLB Anthony Barr (Vikings)

10. CB Desmond Trufant (Falcons)

11. WR Allen Robinson (Jaguars)

12. LB Lavonte David (Buccaneers)

13. TE Tyler Eifert (Bengals)

14. QB Jameis Winston (Buccaneers)

15. DE Carlos Dunlap (Bengals)

16. QB Teddy Bridgewater (Vikings)

17. TE Delanie Walker (Titans)

18. S Reshad Jones (Dolphins)

19. OLB Sean Lee (Cowboys)

20. CB Adam Jones (Bengals)

21. RB Latavius Murray (Raiders)

22. S Malcolm Jenkins (Eagles)

23. CB Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie (Giants)

24. FS Harrison Smith (Vikings)

PRE-SELECTED PICKS (chosen Tuesday)

1. FB Patrick DiMarco (Falcons)

2. OT Branden Albert (Dolphins)

3. OT Tyron Smith (Cowboys)

4. OT Andrew Whitworth (Bengals)

5. G David DeCastro (Steelers)

6. G Zack Martin (Cowboys)

7. G Marshal Yanda (Ravens)

8. C Travis Frederick (Cowboys)

9. C Alex Mack (Browns)

10. DT Calais Campbell (Cardinals)

11 DT Jurrell Casey (Titans)

12. LB NaVorro Bowman (49ers)

13. LB Derrick Johnson (Chiefs)

14. K Dan Bailey (Cowboys)

15. P Sam Koch (Ravens)

16. KR Darren Sproles (Eagles)

17. ST Justin Bethel (Cardinals)


Captain: WR Odell Beckham (Giants)

Captain: DT Aaron Donald (Rams)

1. QB Eli Manning (Giants)

2. DE Khalil Mack (Raiders)

3. WR Jarvis Landry (Dolphins)

4. QB Derek Carr (Raiders)

5. WR Amari Cooper (Raiders)

6. CB Marcus Peters (Chiefs)

7. RB Adrian Peterson (Vikings)

8. OLB Tamba Hali (Chiefs)

9. DE Everson Griffen (Vikings)

10. CB Vontae Davis (Colts)

11. WR T.Y. Hilton (Colts)

12. CB Brent Grimes (Dolphins)

13. RB Doug Martin (Buccaneers)

14. TE Travis Kelce (Chiefs)

15. S Eric Berry (Chiefs)

16. LB Julius Pepper (Packers)

17. DE Cameron Jordan (Saints)

18. QB Tyrod Taylor (Bills)

19. TE Gary Barnidge (Browns)

20. OLB Elvis Dumervil (Ravens)

21. RB Chris Ivory (Jets)

22. CB Jason Verrett (Chargers)

23. SS Mike Adams (Colts)

24. SS Charles Woodson (Raiders)

PRE-SELECTED PICKS (chosen Tuesday)

1. FB John Kuhn (Packers)

2. OT Kyle Long (Bears)

3. OT Joe Staley (49ers)

4. OT Joe Thomas (Browns)

5. G Richie Incognito (Bills)

6. G Logan Mankins (Buccaneers)

7. G Josh Sitton (Packers)

8. G Nick Mangold (Jets)

9. C Eric Wood (Bills)

10. DT Fletcher Cox (Eagles)

11. DT Gerald McCoy (Buccaneers)

12. LB Clay Matthews (Packers)

13. LB Bobby Wagner (Seahawks)

14. K Josh Brown (Giants)

15. P Johnny Hekker (Rams)

16. KR Tyler Lockett (Seahawks)

17. ST Cedric Peerman (Bengals)