Berkeley-based emcee Lyrics Born has announced a new greatest hits album, Now Look What You’ve Done, Lyrics Born! Greatest Hits, a thank you note to his fans and cherry on top of an already impressive catalog. The album drops April 15, 2016 via his Mobile Home Recordings imprint with liner notes by Oliver Wang and Jeff Chang

“This release means everything to me,” Lyrics Born tells The Source. “It’s the culmination of all the hard work and dedication, not only for myself but the fans, as well. I made the songs, but I didn’t make them hits— the fans did. They blew them up, and they even chose the songs for the tracklisting. I feel like I can leave the earth now knowing that I left a body of work, worthy of a greatest hits [album].”

As co-founder of the iconic Solesides and Quannum Projects labels, he’s been rooted in the Bay Area scene for the past 16 years, but has impacted the Hip Hop community across the globe. Lyrics Born’s first solo album, 2003’s Later That Day, introduced the world to the inner workings of the Japanese-American emcee. With his powerful baritone voice, Lyrics Born crafted a career that has clearly stood the test of time.

“I think longevity in Hip Hop is equal parts talent, determination, hard work, curiosity, and fan support,” he says. “I love music, performing and being creative. I’m so blessed to have been a part of people’s lives in some small way for so long. I’m addicted to seeing people have a good time, and I’m addicted to seeing and feeling people’s reactions to my music. I love the concept of legacy, and at this stage in my career, it is a top priority for me.”


Check out the tracklisting and artwork below:      


01) I Changed My Mind [Stereo MCs Remix]

02) Lady Don’t Tek No [Latyrx – Lateef & Lyrics Born]

03) Callin’ Out

04) Bad Dreams

05) I’m Just Raw ft. Dan the Automator

06) Pack Up Remix ft. Evidence & KRS-One

07) Do That There [Young Einstein Hoo-Hoo Mix] ft. Cut Chemist

08) I Like It, I Love It

09) Differences ft. Joyo Velarde & B’Nai

10) Coulda Woulda Shoulda ft. Sam Sparro

11) Exclamation Point [Latyrx – Lateef & Lyrics Born] ft. Forrest Day

12) I Got It (What You Need) Galactic ft. Lyrics Born

13) Chest Wide Open ft. David Shaw of The Revivalists

14) Real People