• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Mail
  • Copy URL Link copied
  • Text Message
  • Reddit

On June 9, Marvin Gaye and Nile Rodgers will be inducted into the Songwriters Hall Of Fame.

Established in 1969, the Songwriters Hall of Fame (SHOF) celebrates musical pioneers. Gaye, who is being inducted posthumously, helped shape the sound of Motown. His major hits include “What’s Going On,” “Let’s Get It On” and “Sexual Healing,” which won two Grammy’s in 1982.

Rodgers and Bernard Edwards, who is also being inducted posthumously, formed Chic in 1976. They went on to make hit songs “Everybody Dance,” the Grammy-nominated “Dance, Dance, Dance (Yowsah, Yowsah, Yowsah),” “I Want Your Love,” “Le Freak,” and the celebratory anthem, “We Are Family.”


Lionel Richie is the 2016 recipient of the esteemed Johnny Mercer Award at the 47th Annual Induction. The Johnny Mercer Award is the highest honor bestowed by the Songwriters Hall of Fame.

Nick Jonas is the recipient of the eminent Hal David Starlight Award, which shines a light on gifted young songwriters who are making a significant impact on the music industry. Previous honorees include Nate Ruess, Imagine Dragons Dan Reynolds, Taylor Swift, John Legend, Alicia Keys, Ne-Yo, Drake, Benny Blanco, Jason Mraz, John Mayer, Rob Thomas, and John Rzeznik.

Additional 2016 inductees include Elvis Costello, Tom Petty and Chip Taylor.