• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Mail
  • Copy URL Link copied
  • Text Message
  • Reddit

Rihanna is this year’s recipient of the Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award at the 2016 MTV Video Music Awards. The Bajan pop sensation has also been nominated for four Moonmen, with two nods each for both “Work” featuring Drake and “This Is What You Came For” featuring Calvin Harris.

Last year’s recipient was Kanye West. Past winners includes Michael Jackson himself, Madonna, Peter Gabriel, Guns N’ Roses, Beastie Boys, Britney Spears, Justin Timberlake, and Beyoncé. 

RiRi has earned the prestigious award due to a decade worth of iconic videos like “Umbrella,” “We Found Love,” and “B*tch Better Have My Money.”


The nominees for this year’s ceremony included Beyoncé, Adele, Ariana Grande, Kanye, Drake, Justin Bieber, Calvin Harris, Sia, Rihanna, The Weeknd, and more. Find out who are the winners of the 2016 MTV VMAs on Sunday, August 28th. It’s airing live from New York City’s Madison Square Garden  at 9 p.m.

Honored to take the #VMAs stage as this year’s Michael Jackson Video #VANGUARD award recipient on August 28!!

A photo posted by badgalriri (@badgalriri) on Aug 11, 2016 at 9:00am PDT