Here is a brief recap Hip Hop releases from America which dropped in October 2016 to be in the know about, in no particular order.

Visit for more information

The Game dropped his eighth studio album “1992” on 14 October, 13 tracks deep and clocking in at just short of an hour long. Features guest appearances from R&B Singer Jeremih, Osbe Chill, Lorine Chia, Sonyae Elise and Jason Derulo.


L’Orange & Mr. Lif released “The Life & Death of Scenery” through a partnership between Mello Music Group and Adult Swim also on 14 October. The 11-track offering boasts features from Akrobatik & DJ Qbert and channels a well crafted Orwellian message throughout.

Joe Budden released the aptly titled “Rage & the Machine” on 21 October, with the album almost entirely produced by AraabMUZIK. With features including Tory Lanez, Fabolous as well as fellow Slaughterhouse member Joell Ortiz, the 11-tracks on the album offer something different than Budden’s numerous Drake diss tracks released over the previous few months.

The joint album from Anderson .Pakk and producer Knxwledge as NxWorries entitled “Yes Lawd!” was released on 21 October. The Dr. Dre Aftermath signed Anderson .Paak and revered Stones Throw Records producer Knxwledge have joined forces to create an excellent album which builds upon their late 2015 released EP “Link Up & Suede”.

Portland Trailblazers Point Guard, yes NBA player, Damian Lillard aka Dame D.O.L.L.A. released his debut album “The Letter ‘O’” on 21 October, proving that this part-time rapper full-time PG is better on the mic that most of his now rapping peers. The 12-track project features Juvenile, Jamie Foxx amongst others and carries the light for talented ball players simultaneously entering the music arena in a similar talented vein as Shaq and Allen Iverson, but a much better lyricist. A somewhat surprisingly stellar performance by Dame D.O.L.L.A. on Sway in the Morning has solidified his reputation as a future emcee to watch.

Kxng Crooked of Slaughterhouse (formerly known as Crooked I) released the 6-track EP “Valley of the KXNGS” on 27 October. These six tracks also serve as additional tracks on the deluxe edition of Kxng Crooked’s November released full-length album “Good vs. Evil” (which itself features Eminem, Xzibit, Tech N9ne, RZA + more). The initial six-track EP tackles numerous topical issues, ranging from economic injustice, police brutality, race issues, politics and educational inequalities.

The legendary NYC group D.I.T.C. released their new album “Sessions” on 28 October. The 12-track release from Fat Joe / Lord Finesse / Diamond D / A.G., Showbiz, O.C. / Buckwild builds on the tremendous legacy that DITC has built for themselves with the late Big L (RIP) since the 90s.

Underrated emcee Mickey Factz has teamed up with The Soul Council emcee/producer double threat Nottz to release the 10-track album “The Achievement: circa ‘82”, released on 28 October. Nottz’s production credentials are second to none, with 9th Wonder recently labeling him as arguably the best beat maker in the world. Their new album features Showtyme, Blu, Phonte, Smoke Dza, Curren$y and Styles P amongst more.

About The Author

Australian & NZ Contributor for The Source

Sam is the Producer of The Lesson w/ DJ Sanchez (hip-hop radio show & TV show based in Melbourne, Australia). We cover Hip Hop music and culture from Australia, NZ and beyond, new releases + Battle Rap for The Source. IG- @thewriterau_sam

Related Posts