Words by Jason Cordner

Visit streaming.thesource.com for more information

Tuesday afternoon (October 17), after a lengthy three hour meeting, the NFL and its owners left the League’s policy regarding the anthem unchanged.

Some owners are still against the idea of players protesting during the national anthem, and teams may have individual guidelines for it. However, players won’t face any official discipline from the NFL if they choose to protest.


According to CBSSports.com, those in attendance included retired receiver Anquan Boldin, Colts safety Darius Butler, Chargers left tackle Russell Okung, Dolphins players Kenny Stills, Julius Thomas, and Michael Thomas, Giants linebacker Mark Herzlich, Jets players Kelvin Beachum and Demario Davis, Eagles players Malcolm Jenkins and Chris Long, 49ers safety Eric Reid, and Redskins’ corner back Josh Norman.”

The NFLPA sent DeMaurice Smith, Eric Winston, Don Davis while the League was represented by Commissioner Roger Goodell and Troy Vincent. Owners and representatives from the teams included Cardinals president Michael Bidwill, Falcons owner Arthur Blank, Bills owner Terry Pegula, Texans owner Robert McNair, Jaguarsowner Shad Khan, Dolphins owner Stephen Ross, Patriots owner Robert Kraft, Giants owner John Mara, Steelers owner Art Rooney, Eagles owner Jeffrey Lurie and 49ers owner Jed York.

The no-decision follows on the heels of League and players endorsing changes to criminal legislation.

What About Kaepernick ?

Colin Kaepernick, who began protesting during the national anthem during the 2016 preseason, was not invited to participate in the meeting. Other players wanted Kaepernick to participate, but the league and owners did not extend the invitation.

Willie Colon said on SNY New York that he had spoken to several players who attended, and the meetings didn’t go as well as other reports suggested.