Words by Shanice Stephanie

Visit streaming.thesource.com for more information

The Soul Train Awards is one of the more upscale and important awards show on television. This year marks the 30th anniversary of the awards show since its beginning in 1987; having already announced some of the performers and nominees, there has been recent confirmation that Erykah Badu will be hosting the Soul Train Awards 2017 for a third time in a row. Erykah has hosted the 2015 and 2016 award show as well. The show will be filmed on November 5th at The Orleans Arena in Las Vegas, BET Presents: 2017 Soul Train Awards and is set to air on BET and BET HER on November 26th at 8pm.

For this years Soul Train Awards show 2017, Toni Braxton will be receiving the ‘Don Cornelius Legend’ Award and SWV will be presented with the ‘Lady Of Soul Award’. It is also said that Tamar Braxton, Tank, 112, and Kirk Franklin will be taking the stage to perform.


The Soul Train Awards is known to shout out the best in R&B, soul and Hip-Hop. Solange leads by receiving 7 nominations including Best Album, The Ashford and Simpson Songwriters Award, and Song of the Year. Bruno Mars coming up in second place received 6 nominations. Other notable nominees includes Rihanna, SZA, DJ Khaled, Bryson Tiller and Khalid.

We wish all of the nominees and performers good luck, and we look forward to seeing a memorable show.