Words by Ime Ekpo

Visit streaming.thesource.com for more information

BET is assuring soul folks the 2017 Soul Train Awards will meet their eyes with a largely warm welcome. The network has added Keyshia Cole, Method Man, Demetria McKinney, DVSN, Le’Andria Johnson, Ledisi, Daniel Caeser, Major, Luke James, U-God, and Ro James to the already star-studded lineup of performers for the evening. The aforementioned artists will be joining the Las Vegas bound stage with Toni Braxton, SWV, Kirk Franklin, Tank, Tamar Braxton, and 112.

For the third year straight, the Godmother of Soul, Erykah Badu will lead as the award show host while celebrities such as Sevyn Streeter, Bell Biv Devoe, Deon Cole, Robin Thede, and Lil Rey Howery serve as presenters.


In light of acknowledging the legends of Soul, R&B, and Hip-Hop, seven-time Grammy award-winning songbird Toni Braxton will receive the Don Cornelius Legend award and the ladies of multi-platinum R&B class act SWV will receive the honors of the third annual Lady of Soul Award.

The 2017 Soul Train Awards batch of nominees spread across 12 categories and is bejeweled with stars in the likes of Solange, Bruno Mars, DJ Khaled, Rihanna, Bryson Tiller to name a few. Solange is in the lead with 7 nominations including Best R&B/Soul Female Artist, Video and Song of the year, “Cranes in the Sky” making “That’s What I Like” singer Bruno Mars the runner-up with 6 nods. Modern-day soul sensations SZA and Khalid serve a lucid presence holding nominations in various categories such as Best New Artist, Best R&B/Soul Male Artist, and Best R&B/Soul Female Artist.

With Wu brothers Method Man and U-God on the bill, there is a great chance the killa bees might swarm viewers into 90s hip-hop nostalgia. Keyshia Cole is the prime R&B diva who can give the show a present-day vibe and when it’s time to showcase the international touch of soul music, Canadian-duo DVSN is on the job.

BET Presents: 2017 Soul Train Awards will take place in Las Vegas at the Orleans Arena, and will air on BET Nov. 26th at 8pm EST.