Gregg Popovich and the San Antonio Spurs got their fourteenth victory of the season last night (Dec. 11) against the Phoenix Suns, which also pushed the legendary coach passed Pat Riley on the all-time coaching wins list.

Coach Pop led the Spurs to a 111-86 win, notching his 1,211 coaching win and now only trails Jerry Sloan, Lenny Wilkins, and Don Nelson. Sloan is ahead of Popovich with 1,221 wins, in range for the Spurs coach to pass him this season.

Nelson who is at the top of the list with 1,335 wins, 124 ahead of Popovich. If he happens to remain the coach of Spurs for another season or two, he will likely top the list.

This Spurs team is different for Coach Popovich as it is not led by a combination of Tim Duncan, Manu Ginobili, Tony Parker or Kawhi Leonard. Instead, DeMar DeRozan, LaMarcus Aldridge, and Rudy Gay are leading the way.

Congrats to Coach Popovich.


View this post on Instagram


With tonight’s victory, Coach Popovich moves into fourth place for all-time wins in NBA history. #GoSpursGo⁠ ⁠

A post shared by San Antonio Spurs (@spurs) on