Motown legend Stevie Wonder, the Queen of Soul Aretha Franklin, R&B diva Stephanie Mills, New Jack Swing icons Guy, and Funk guitarist and songwriter Ray Parker Jr. is among the 2019 honorees for the National Rhythm & Blues Hall of Fame, organizer LaMont Robinson announced today.

Visit for more information

Also to be inducted this year are Motown Songwriter/Producer Henry Cosby, Keith Washington, H-Town, and The Rude Boys.

The 2019 National Rhythm & Blues Hall of Fame Weekend induction ceremony will be held June 23rd at the Detroit’s Charles H. Wright Museum of African American History. The Red-carpet event will begin at 5:00 pm and the induction ceremony will begin at 6:00 pm. Also, it was announced said the event will be broadcast nationally.


Former Supreme Mary Wilson will host the event, which will include a musical tribute to Aretha Franklin, who was inducted as a singer in 2015, and who will be inducted this year as a songwriter.

It is the mission of the National Rhythm & Blues Hall of Fame to “educate and to preserve, promote and present rhythm & blues music by inspiring knowledge, appreciation and to celebrate the history of rhythm & blues music globally.” It is Robinson’s vision that the National Rhythm & Blues Hall of Fame an in-depth, highly interactive educational experience.  It maintains historical artifacts and state of the art interactive exhibits that provide information, cultural enrichment and entertainment for people of all ages.”

Detroit would be the most fitting place for a museum commemorating the history of Rhythm & Blues as the motor city is the home of Motown Records.

For the time being, Robinson’s project is a virtual mobile hall of fame. The goal is to build a world-class state-of-the-art 55,000 sq. ft. $25 million facilities in the city of Detroit within the next 12-24 months.

For ticket information call 313-936-2040 or go to