As the Bodega Boys always say, “The brand is brolic.”

Visit for more information

Recognizing this, the Webby Awards announced today that comedy duo Desus and Mero along with actor/writer Issa Rae will be recognized with Webby Special Achievement Awards next week for their contributions to Internet culture.

Desus Nice and the Kid Mero will be presented with a Webby Special Achievement Award for their talk show Desus & Mero which made it’s debut this year on Showtime.


Also, legendary actor Michael Douglas will accept a 2019 Webby Special Achievement Award for his work in the role of Sandy Kominsky in the Netflix original, The Kominsky Method.

Other Special Achievement honorees include Glossier founder Emily Weiss, artist Tierra Whack, and host and creator Hasan Minhaj.

The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences — which hands out the awards — will also honor Childish Gambino, Jimmy Fallon, Will Smith, Kesha and Spotify this year

Established in 1996 during the Web’s infancy, The Webbys is presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS)—a 2000+ member judging body. The Academy is comprised of Executive Members—leading Web experts, business figures, luminaries, visionaries and creative celebrities—and Associate Members who are former Webby Winners, Nominees, and other Internet professionals. Reflecting the tremendous growth of the Internet, The Webbys now honors excellence in 7 major media types: Websites, Video, Advertising, Media & PR, Social, Apps, Mobile, & Voice, Games, and Podcasts.

The Webby Awards presents two honors in every category—The Webby Award and The Webby People’s Voice Award. In the spirit of the open Web, The Webby People’s Voice is awarded by the voting public. Each year, The Webby People’s Voice Awards garners millions of votes from all over the world.

Hosted by actress and comedian Jenny Slate, the 23rd Annual Webby Awards will take place in New York City on Monday, May 13 at Cipriani Wall Street.