The NAACP has announced Rihanna will receive the prestigious President’s Award during the 51st NAACP Image Awards. NAACP President Derrick Johnson will present the award to the music and fashion icon, business entrepreneur and philanthropist during a live tv special on BET on Saturday, February 22.

Visit for more information

Past recipients for the award include Shawn “JAY-Z” Carter, Jesse Jackson, Lauryn Hill, Soledad O’Brien, Colin Powell, Condoleezza Rice, Muhammad Ali, and more.

“Rihanna has not only enjoyed a groundbreaking career as an artist and musician, but has also distinguished herself as a stellar public servant,” said Derrick Johnson, President and CEO of the NAACP. “From her business achievements through Fenty, to her tremendous record as an activist and philanthropist, Rihanna epitomizes the type of character, grace, and devotion to justice that we seek to highlight in our President’s Award.”


The award highlights her achievements in music and an ever-growing resume of achievements, which include her FENTY beauty line, SAVAGE x FENTY and being the first woman of color to partner with LVMH for her FENTY fashion house.

Rihanna will also be celebrated for her Clara Lionel Foundation, which honors her grandparents, Clara and Lionel Braithwaite. The foundation supports and funds groundbreaking and effective education and emergency response programs around the world.