The NBA will soon resume the 2019-2020 season.

Visit for more information

On Thursday, the NBA’s Board of Governors voted to approve the league’s proposed 22-team format for the resumption of the season. Only one owner voted down the proposal, according to ESPN’s Adrian Wojnarowski.

Games will all be held at Disney World in Orlando, Florida Shams Charania of The Athletic adds that there will be a training camp period beginning on June 30.


The 220-acre complex has three arenas where the league can hold games as well as ample hotels, which would make it easier for players and their families to limit outside exposure while the season concludes.

The 22 team format will include nine Eastern Conference teams and 13 Western Conference teams. The reason for the west having more teams is because, five teams in the west where within striking distance of the 8th seed, as in the east, only one team was close to the 8th seed.

There will be an eight-game season followed by the traditional playoff format. The one change that may happen again next season, will be the 8th and 9th seed playing a play-in series for the final spot if the 9th seed is within four games of the 8th seed after the regular season resumes.

The league also announced that the NBA lottery will be held on August 25th, and the NBA draft will be held on October 15th. If you’re wondering when the 2020-2021 season will be, the league covered that question as well. The next NBA season will be in December giving teams at least 8 weeks in between the end of this season and the beginning of the next.