Beyoncé is receiving pushback from country radio stations after releasing two country singles, “Texas Hold ‘Em” and “16 Carriages” after the Super Bowl.

Visit for more information

One of the stations, KYKC 100.1 FM in Oklahoma sent an email response to a listener: “Hi – we do not play Beyoncé’ on KYKC as we are a country music station.”

You can see the message below.


It is once again Beyoncé season. Queen Bey has announced ‘Act II’ of the Renaissance era, set for release on March 29.

Beyoncé made the reveal during a Verizon Wireless Super Bowl commercial where she teased various ways to break the Internet or crowd Verizon’s powerful signal. After numerous attempts, Beyoncé demands, “Drop the new music” at the end.

Shortly after, Beyoncé’s social media updated with news of Act II, followed by two new singles, “Texas Hold ‘Em” and “16 Carriages,” ushering in her country music era.

You can hear both singles below.

About The Author

Senior Editor

Shawn Grant is a Chicago native and the Senior Editor of The Source Magazine. He can only be found on Instagram and Twitter at @shawnxgrant.

Related Posts