• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Mail
  • Copy URL Link copied
  • Text Message
  • Reddit

The 2017-2018 NBA Season has officially come to an end on Monday Night (June 26) as the league announced individual honors at the second annual NBA Awards ceremony. In a fierce race, James Harden was named the winner of the KIA NBA MVP Award.

Airing live from Los Angeles, Harden was announced as the winner edging out LeBron James and Anthony Davis in a tight race. “The last four years have been like knocking on the door, knocking on the door. Now the moment is finally here,” Harden shared in his acceptance speech.

Other awards for the night included Lou Williams of the Los Angeles Clippers taking home the NBA Sixth Man of the Year award, the Utah Jazz’s Rudy Gobert winning Defensive Player of the Year and Ben Simmons of the Philadelphia 76ers winning the Rookie of the Year honors. In an interesting reveal, Dwane Casey, who was relieved of his duties after the playoffs, took home the Coach of the Year award for his efforts with the Toronto Raptors. Casey will continue coaching next year in his new role with the Detroit Pistons.

The evening also featured a Lifetime Achievement award that was presented to NBA Legend Oscar Robertson and the Sager Strong Award, presented in the memory of late broadcaster Craig Sager, to Dikembe Mutombo.


The 2018 NBA Awards were hosted by Anthony Anderson, the Inside the NBA crew and featured a performance from Travis $cott. Check out the full list of winners here.

The 2018 #KiaMVP & his new hardware! ??? #NBAAwards

A post shared by NBA (@nba) on